Loom experiments…

And I’ve been trying to figure out how to make larger, more complicated stuff without my beautiful floorloom that I left with my mom in California. I miss it a lot, too. But her more. But in working out the loom thing (Since nobody I’ve met so far knows where to find a webstühl) I have had some fun adventures. Here is the first failure (I mean learning prototype)

disregard the funny face and messy room, pls.

disregard the funny face and messy room, pls.

Using only wood that was left in the apartment and found on the street, it was a good ‘3-D sketch’ of what I might make later, when I have more resources at my disposal… but then I decided to look back, to the Greeks, who had way less by way of hardware stores than modern man and woman do, and I took a walk to the park, and collected some local elm branches, thinking of gerhard richter… I looked at some images on ancient vases in books I used for research while pursuing my MFA and a few on-line as well, and here is the outcome of that!

Using all local materials, except for the weights, brought from Cali

Using all local materials, except for the weights, brought from Cali

far weights I thought it would be best to use crystals, and, when I ran out, a geode.

for weights I thought it would be best to use crystals, and, when I ran out, a geode.

the weighted-warp loom is very strange, with Greek, Egyptian, and Norse heritage, but weaving from the top down gives a totally different perspective. Just call me Circe, I guess.

One Response to “Loom experiments…”

  1. Julianna Says:

    I love watching your creative process and I can’t wait to see the final version of the loom! I have been experimenting with the laser loom that I bought from you using my handspun yarn and it is working out great, I will keep you posted with pictures soon. Oh, and I refuse to ignore the funny face 😛

Leave a Reply

