Jeans are made…

So the denim I wove in 2007* to impress Sensei Nakajima on his visit to CCA has finally been cut and sewn into jeans! Thank you Roy Slaper for lending design and construction skills. Roy is mastering jeancraft and has amassed an impressive collection of vintage industrial garment construction machines. You should see his button-hole stitcher, seriously. We will be wearing the jeans and showing ff our skills and tools at his new shop space in Oakland next art murmur Friday. More on that soon. He sent me these pictures and I can’t even go get in the pants until tomorrow I can’t wait!

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring, spa services by Roy Slaper

photo, tailoring, spa services by Roy Slaper


*denim is cotton cloth woven in a twill structure, with indigo-dyed warp threads and undyed weft or “filler” material. I set this up at 30 threads per inch with a 1/2 twill. 30 ends per inch times 36″ wide equals over one thousand threads to put through the loom!
thread

Tags:

4 Responses to “Jeans are made…”

  1. Nikko Moy Says:

    Now that is impressive!!!! Way to go!

  2. August Larson Says:

    Hey, I was wondering how long it takes to make your own denim? I make my own jeans too and I’m considering making the denim from scratch too. Keep up the good work!!

    • Travis Meinolf Says:

      This is a question I get a lot, and it is difficult to answer. Like, for this particular project, first I decided how wide the cloth would need to be and how dense the threads should be in the weave. Industrially-woven denim is around 50 threads per inch, I gave myself a break, used thicker threads (8/2, weavers) and set it at 40 ends per inch. even so for 30″ wide cloth I had to measure out 1200 threads (three days, maybe) and dye them in indigo over two more days, thread them through the loom (a week), wind the 7 yards of thread onto the back beam of the loom (2 more days) and then begin to weave! The actual weaving took like a month, and then I gave it to Roy in August. His process was equally involved, as you may know, with special sergers, double-needle sewing machines, rivets, etc… well, that’s a very simple answer to that question, August.

  3. August Larson Says:

    Thank you! I dont know anything about weaving but I’m seeing if i should actually look into doing it or not since it would save a ton of money compared to going to the fabric store and buying denim. What would you recommend: store bought denim or home-made denim? Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

